Grown Men Playing Video Games and THANK YOU!

I grew up in a time where game systems only began being popular.

Game boy, that duck shooting game, then Mario Cart.

I never owned a single game system myself. I only ever played he original Roller Coaster Tycoon and Sims on PC. Those were the days.

I enjoyed my computer time although I spent most of my childhood playing outdoors and creating worlds with my toys using my imagination.

But I know a lot of people who grew up with game systems and this isn’t my issue.

My issue is people 20+ with no job… that waste their day’s playing games?

I see it as an impairment of judgement.

I feel they have had a lack of mental growth due to these games.

Leave the games for the kids, or for when you are reliving your childhood and you have your own.

What do you think?

Updated my about by the way (just figuring out how this thing works still)

Thanks for all the support so far though!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brett Martin
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 00:44:11

    I think that the fact that they are 20+ with no job might not be directly related to video games. It may have something to do with it, but there have been plenty of people without jobs that do nothing productive even before games.

    As for leaving them for kids, I don’t really agree with that. There are a ton of different types of games out there, not all of them time consuming. I don’t see the difference between playing a game and say, watching a movie or television. Of course, if all they do is play games then that isn’t healthy for anyone, no matter what age!

    Reply

    • lemonflakes
      Dec 22, 2011 @ 14:44:59

      Thanks for the response!
      But yes I guess it depends on the person, game, and hours of play.
      I just find it expensive too!
      How often do you think is often enough?
      And how much over board?

      Reply

  2. Nhan-Fiction
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 23:19:56

    Eh, I am someone who has been a gamer my whole life. Gaming to me is more than a hobby. Other people escape reality through things like books and whatnot, and I believe gaming does the same thing in a more interactive way.

    In fact, I would argue that gaming has made me a BETTER person to this day. I have learned a lot of things through gaming. I find that exercising your mind through memory and quick-thinking sequences during a game can be quite useful for daily interactions and obstacles.

    Granted, I realize that gaming is not perfect. For instance, I find myself playing games too much when I can be doing other things, but I guess having fun while gaming is certainly worthwhile in itself. Especially these days, gaming is more culturally accepted than ever before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

